about arc

locations_bwLed by Maeve Connolly and Sinead Hogan, the Art and Research Collaboration (ARC) programme is a full time practice-based taught masters delivered over two years (September – May). The ARC programme is offered by IADT and incorporates project partnerships with Dublin City Council Arts Office, led by the LAB, the Irish Film Institute (IFI) and the Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA). ARC also regularly devises events and projects in collaboration with The Dock, Highlanes Gallery, Pallas Projects, PLASTIK Festival and Temple Bar Gallery + Studios.

Modules are taught primarily off-campus on Thursdays and Fridays, at the LAB on Foley Street in Dublin 1 or at the IMMA studios in Kilmainham. 

ARC is a highly practical programme and students are encouraged to install and present their work in a variety of studio, rehearsal and gallery contexts. Students also get professional practice guidance on their Major Project including advice on funding from public and private sources, fabrication, insurance and public liability.

All ARC students have full access to project-based studios, art production facilities and technical training workshops on the main IADT campus. They also benefit from full access to the IADT art studios during the summer months. 

Through the lecture and seminar programme, ARC students explore the context for their own practice and question how art intersects with other fields of enquiry.

The ARC programme is open to artists, critics, curators and those engaging with art thinking and art practices via other roles. Current students and graduates have developed projects engaging with archaeology, architecture, computing, craft, design, education, engineering, fashion, fiction, film, history, geography, geology, media, philosophy, psychology, publishing, science and theatre.

ARC students are regularly invited to present their work to professionals in the art world. Visiting artists, critics and curators in 2016-17 included David Beattie, Mary Conlon, Damien Flood, Jennie Guy, Isobel Harbison, Emma Haugh, Alissa Kleist, Jaki Irvine, Sasha Litvinseva, Peter Maybury, Paul McAree, Gavin Murphy, Nathan O’Donnell, Marguerite O’Molloy, Matt Packer, Livia Paldi, Linda Shevlin, Lucy Steeds (Afterall publications), Kate Strain and Marysia Wieckiewicz-Carroll.